The Birdcage (1996)

Directed By – Mike Nichols

Screenplay By – Elaine May

Based on the play “La Cage Aux Folles” by Jean Poiret

Starring Robin Williams, Gene Hackman & Nathan Lane

117 min.

I feel like some people love this movie, but I was really disappointed. You have this great set-up with Robin Williams playing a gay club owner and yet the majority of the movie he’s trying to act straight. This is really Nathan Lane’s movie, and while he does a great job, his character alone is not what I’m really interested in.

I’ll tell you what I’m definitely not interested in, is a gay club owner’s son getting married to a politicians daughter. Of all the things that could have come from having Robin Williams and Nathan Lane as a gay couple, the story is “let’s have them pretend to be straight”. Robin Williams IS ALREADY PRETENDING TO BE GAY!

Hank Azaria’s character is by far the best part of this movie, but mostly this movie upsets me because of the potential of what it could have been. Obviously I’m critiquing the movie on what it didn’t do rather than what it did, but I thought what it did was boring. The scenes with Robin Williams and Nathan Lane playing a gay couple are really funny but there’s just not enough of those to make this movie worth is for me. I wanted something else from the set-up and am jealous that anyone had Robin Williams and Nathan Lane in a homosexual relationship, and pissed that all the plot had them do was try and play straight men. If that’s not backward ass then I don’t know what is.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

