L’Age d’Or (1930)

Directed By – Luis Buñuel

Screenplay By – Luis Buñuel & Salvador Dalí

Cinematography By – Albert Duverger

Starring Gaston Modot & Lya Lys

63 min.

Well this is one that I’m going to have to watch again. I think I understood most of it, but a lot of it is so surreal that it was lost on me during my first viewing. The beginning sequence with the scorpions was fascinating and the ending sequence with the orgy by the clergymen was bizarre. Everything in-between was strange, and yet it did all come together to make a coherent piece, I’m just not quite sure what.

Yeah, this movie was a badass example of how film can be a surreal experience.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

