Foxcatcher (2014)

Directed By – Bennett Miller

Screenplay By – E. Max Frye & Dan Futterman

Cinematography By – Greig Fraser

Starring Steve Carell, Channing Tatum & Mark Ruffalo

134 min.

Straight up, I did not like this film. I blame it on story and pacing because in terms of production aspects, the cinematography, the acting, and the score (the music in the movie was the best part) they were all great. The story is boring. The characters are fascinating but the movie lingers on things that aren’t important and skips over things that are. I felt like there isn’t a build up to the ending, it just happens. The characters don’t really have a spiral downward into insanity as much as they are already crazy to begin with. That being said, they seem more like they have aspergers than anything else.

This movie was way too long for what it gives the audience. There are moments that are exciting but for the most part I always wanted to get to the next scene. Things in this movie become repetitive and I became bored. The craziest part of this movie is that the actual story is more entertaining and bizarre than what the movie shows!

I do think all three actors will get nominated, at least Carell and Tatum are practically shoe-ins, Ruffalo might have a harder time getting the nom. That being said, acting can only take me so far in movie. If anything I felt like Carell and Tatum weren’t given enough to do. Maybe I’m crazy, maybe this is a brilliant movie that will withstand the test of time, but I’m calling overhype on this one, and it being a movie with very very little rewatchability factor.

Of course, go see it and make your own opinion, that’s the point. But I think I’ve made mine very clear.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

