Short Term 12 (2013)

Directed By – Destin Daniel Cretton

Screenplay By – Destin Daniel Cretton

Cinematography By – Brett Pawlak

Starring Brie Larson

96 min.

Short Term 12 is a good movie but some people I know go apeshit for it, and personally I just don’t get it. It’s good, the acting is good from an extremely young cast, there are moments of true humor and real emotion, yet it all comes together to make me ask the question “Why two white girls?” That’s my problem with it. We see all of these kid from different backgrounds of different ethnicities and the two characters that the story focuses on are two white girls. I don’t know, Short Term 12 just doesn’t do it for me.

Brie Larson is awesome, I’ll give you that. I love this girl, whether it is in Scott Pilgrim or 21 Jump St., Brie Larson is the bomb.com and I’m excited to see her in the next couple of years as she becomes a stud and a Hollywood sweetheart, because you can bet your sweet ass that’s where this girl is headed. If she wants it, it’s there for the taking.

That being said, the most honest moment in the film is a scene in which Brie isn’t in, the scene where Marcus raps for Mason. That scene can bring a hard man to tears.

I got a little something to say for Destin Daniel Cretton (cool name by the way). What’s up with the handheld shots? This entire movie is handheld. Did you forget to rent out a tripod DDC? I don’t get it. It doesn’t add anything to this movie it only distracts me. Keep still dammit!

Don’t get me wrong, Short Term 12 is a nice movie but cool your jets everyone, this is not Nicholson’s One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

