Into the Woods (2014)

Directed By – Rob Marshall

Screenplay By – James Lapine

Cinematography By – Dion Beebe

Starring Anna Kendrick, Daniel Huttlestone, James Corden, Lilla Crawford, Emily Blunt & Meryl Streep

125 min.

I was hoping Into the Woods was going to be a sleeper choice for best Christmas season movie but I hoped incorrectly on this one. Into the Woods starts strong with a very good fourteen minute prologue but there are few moments after the opener that feel genuine. Besides a few musical numbers (three to be exact) most of the singing felt repetitive and unoriginal. Because of the repetitiveness of the storyline and the singing the movie gives off a claustrophobic vibe, and I would say at the 80 minute mark I had had enough and wanted it to be over.

It’s not a knock on any of the actors (actually Meryl Streep was probably the worst of the bunch) and Colleen Atwood the costume designer and Dennis Gassner the production designer did a great job. Really the blame should fall on James Lapine for all of the recurring rhyme schemes and unvaried musical assemblies. I’m not sure if James Lapine wrote the original stage musical as well, but I guess I’m just not a fan of Into the Woods because I like a little variation in my musicals.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

