Sólo con tu pareja (1991)

Directed By – Alfonso Cuarón

Screenplay By – Alfonso Cuarón & Carlos Cuarón

Cinematography By – Emmanuel Lubezki

Starring Daniel Giménez Cacho & Claudia Ramírez

94 min.

As Cuarón’s feature debut I was definitely interested in watching Sólo con tu pareja. Knowing what I know of his later work I surprised at how heavy handed the comedy was in this movie. This movie felt very much like an innovative Spanish soap opera. I didn’t like it all that much and if it wasn’t a Cuarón film I would probably say it wasn’t very good, although there’s got to be something to it that I’m not seeing or it’s just doesn’t withstand the test of time the way a movie like Children of Men does. Either way I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone other than someone very interested in watching an early Cuarón.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

