Kung Fu Hustle (2004)

Directed By – Stephen Chow

Screenplay By – Man Keung Chan, Stephen Chow, Xin Huo & Kan-Cheung Tsang

Cinematography By – Hang-Sang Poon

Starring Stephen Chow, Xiaogang Feng, Wah Yuen, Siu-Lung Leung & Qiu Yuen

99 min.

I think Kung Fu Hustle was too hyped up for me and that is why I feel disappointed after my viewing of this movie. Recently I heard it compared to Scott Pilgrim vs. The World and well, for me, it definitely does not live up to Scott Pilgrim and therefore I am let down. It does have glimpses of the same style so I can understand the comparison, but ultimately Scott Pilgrim is a much more compelling story that uses its style impeccably, not only to entertain but to enhance the story. Here, the style feels more important than the story, and actually the story itself falls to the wayside as you are constantly figuring out who the protagonist is.

Kung Fu Hustle seems like its hustling itself. If this movie had given us a clear hero and goal I think it would have been way more successful given how fun and unique its style is. What it is is a convoluted mess that doesn’t give the audience time to care for any of its characters.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

