The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

Directed By – Josh Boone

Screenplay By – Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber

Cinematography By – Ben Richardson

Starring Shailene Woodley & Ansel Elgort

126 min.

**Winner of TheDenHouse Manly Men Underrated Award**

Either my expectations of this movie were outrageously low or this movie is actually excellent. I think the truth lies somewhere in-between but I’ve got to give this one props. It does exactly what all the women of America said it did yet I figured “what do they know, they’re just emotional weaklings”. In reality The Fault in Our Stars is as compelling and complete a romance as they come and while cancer is a major player in the movie, the filmmakers don’t shove it in your face. There’s no moment where I felt “they’re just playing the cancer card and this is bullshit.” I guess what I’m getting at is that the movie was surprisingly real. It felt sincere. The characters felt sincere, the situation felt sincere. It was a powerful film.

I thought Shailene Woodley gave a better perfomance in this than she had in her past few films, but Ansel Elgort stole the show. He was the one who made me believe in this couple and he brought the youthful innocence that was essential for these two young teenagers with devastating diseases.

Job well done team, job well done.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

