Ghost in the Shell (1995)

Directed By – Mamoru Oshii

Screenplay By – Kazunori Itô

Cinematography By – Hisao Shirai

83 min.

As an anime Blade Runner-esque movie Ghost in the Shell starts off fierce with a hot naked cyborg cop kicking ass. However, the pace slows down after the first few sequences and ultimately made me wish I was watching the real Blade Runner. Both films deal with the question of what it means to be human and what it means to have consciousness. I seem to prefer Ridley Scott’s version of handling those questions than Oshii’s animation adaptation.

I do see myself enjoying this movie more with multiple viewings, much like Blade Runner. I think what might have thrown me off is how fast the movie starts and then how slow it finishes up, but I do recognize that Ghost in the Shell is doing some very interesting stuff.

Worth a watch for a specific audience. If you’re a huge fan of Blade Runner, check this out.

God Bless America

Leave a Reply

